LRT_GraphicsSave_The_Riders_DunesUTV_Crazy
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Crackerjack Driver Controlled Force's Avatar

XP 1000 crank seal replacement

On this field I'm going to cover replacing the crank seal on a XP 1000 unfortunately the motor has to come out and taken completely apart to replace a $20.00 part..

Now there have been people that claimed they can replace the seal without taking the engine out but after further research I found that it's not a good idea because there's a good chances of damaging the cases

RSR Performance

Just asking , how would you damage the case buy replacing the seal with the engine together ? I'm not a mechanic just asking .

That's a good question, there is a machine groove on both top and bottom case halfs and it is extremely difficult to get it out without prying up against the cases. in the pictures coming up you'll see what I'm talking

RSR Performance

Quote Originally Posted by Controlled Force View Post
    On this field I'm going to cover replacing the crank seal on a XP 1000 unfortunately the motor has to come out and taken completely apart to replace a $20.00 part..

Now there have been people that claimed they can replace the seal without taking the engine out but after further research I found that it's not a good idea because there's a good chances of damaging the cases

RSR Performance

This is the first time I have ever seen seal but was wondering if it is large enough to drill a hole in it and use a slide hammer to pull it out ??

Quote Originally Posted by EPL View Post
    This is the first time I have ever seen seal but was wondering if it is large enough to drill a hole in it and use a slide hammer to pull it out ??
    I thought about that as well but if you drill just a little too far you'll drill into the aluminum case.

In this photo you can see the machine Groove that the seal sits in.